Review: 27

27
27 by Ryan Davis
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

First off I should tell you that Ryan is in the writers group that I attend so I’m biased. Another thing that you won’t know, unless you buy the book, is that Ryan is a bloody good writer. I really enjoyed 27 not because I know Ryan or because I live in the city its set in (Birmingham UK) but because its a well written tale of ambition, despair and friendship. The story centres around Jim Vale ( or Jimmy Tyrant as he’s also known ) a failing rock star who’s light burnt brightly but briefly. Jim’s band, The Tyrants, are struggling, their initial success has long faded and no one seems interested in their latest release. Jim copes with this by loosing himself in drink and drugs until finally he decides to take his own life. Luckily for Jim he’s as adept at killing himself as he is at conquering the music business. His manager convinces him to play dead, hoping that it will boost record sales and thus begins Jim’s decent into the deadly underworld of Birmingham’s drug dealers and strip club owners. I really enjoyed this and found myself very quickly lost in this dark tale of redemption. The story moves along at a good pace with chapters that keep you hooked whilst you look for answers, not all of which are answered. I for one was intrigued by Jim’s skin condition, did it ever clear up? I recognised many of the locations used in the book but that’s not essential, in fact it is probably more of a hindrance than a help. I don’t want to dwell on the plot too much as that would spoil the book but there are some neat twists along the way. If you want something dark, pacey and humorous then this is well worth a shot, after all its set where I live, involves gangster rappers, karaoke thugs, street gangs, revenge fuelled strippers and an egotistical Scandinavian producer. What more could you want?

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

