Review: The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet

The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet
The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet by David Mitchell
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I’ve read all of his other novels and really enjoyed them but this one didn’t do it for me. Mitchell can write, there’s no denying that and he has a confidence in his storytelling that leaves many other writers flagging far behind but for me this was one intricate description of a quirky Japanese character too far.

I couldn’t relate to any of the characters and found it hard to keep going until finally I called it a day about mid way through the book. I know you’re clever Dave, just tell the bloody story! I felt, at times, that I was suffocating in the past, viewing everything in high res 3D smello vision, choking on the detail. Overwritten. A brutal edit might have got something decent from it but this just smacked of over indulgence to me.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

