Reading Challenge

The Reading Agency has set a challenge to the young readers of the UK. The aim is for people to read six books, borrowed from their local library, this summer. The library will record how well the reader is doing and the more books they read the further they progress through the challenge from bronze to silver to gold. More information regarding this can be found here

I thought I’d give it a go myself with a selection of the many unread books on my ‘to read’ shelf so I’ve picked out these six.

20120730-142516.jpg

I’ve already read The Talented Mr Ripley by Patricia Highsmith this summer so I’m looking forward to getting stuck into some of her short stories. Being a Blues fan ( that’s Birmingham City not any of the other pretenders to that title ) I couldn’t resist Tales from the Boot Camps by Steve Claridge when I saw it in a charity shop in Wales. Girlfriend In A Coma was in the same shop. I’ve read a couple of Coupland novels in the past and enjoyed them so I’m hoping this is as good. Continental Drifter was picked up in Buxton over a year ago, there’s high praise all over the cover and it’s been a while since I read any decent travel writing. Pigeon English sounds just like my kind of thing, gritty, urban and short listed for the Guardian First Book Award in 2011. That just leaves The Thousand Autumns of Jacob De Zoet by David Mitchell. I’m a big fan of Mitchell despite the fact that whenever I read his stuff I feel like chucking it all in, as a writer, I’m not suicidal, honest. Mitchell is just so brave, imaginative and confident that I know it’s going to be something I’ll love.

So there you go. Six books for the summer, I’ve also got a couple of poetry books on the go as well but I tend to dip in and out of those so I’ve not included them. I’ll let you all know how I get on and maybe you could let me know what you’ll be reading this summer?

Leave a Reply

