The Old Print Works, Birmingham, UK

The Old Print Works.

 

 

 

 

I’ve just got back from a delightful few hours at The Old Print Works in Balsal Heath, Birmingham, where we took the kids to take part in the craft activities there.

The Old Print Works is indeed an old print works that has been ‘reclaimed’ by a wonderful bunch of creative people who haveturned it into a creative space for people in the Balsal Heath community and further afield ( I’dsneaked in from Kings Heath. ) The building itself is a bit ramshackle and rough at the edges, it is not your high gloss arts centre but I think that adds to the charm and whilst the ethos is more ‘make do and mend’ than Boden glitz the warmth generated by the people based there is genuine and heartfelt.

Today was the last day of their Craft Making Family days but I sincerely hope they’ll be doing more in the coming summer holidays. My kids turned their hands to pottery, felt making and mosaic assisted by the friendly artists based there. I had a go at mosaic myself and was soon totally lost in my searching and gluing of small pieces of tile ( as was my son. ) My wife donned a  ridiculous hat and got stuck into the felt making, whilst another artist cut bits of metal, plastic and wood and then proceeded to play a tune on a pair of bike’s handlebars!

Mosaic

Making a coil pot.

PVA.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When our stomachs started rumbling we headed downstairs to The Ort Cafe where we had a wonderful veggie breakfast complete with strong coffee and marvellous toast!

I loved this venue and the this behind it and if! Like me, you find yourself at a loose end next summer get yourself down there and have some fun.

The Old Print Works

Ort Cafe

3 thoughts on “The Old Print Works, Birmingham, UK

  1. Pingback: CraftMaking Days: Thank You! «

Leave a Reply

