Review: Freak the Mighty

Freak the Mighty
Freak the Mighty by Rodman Philbrick
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I don’t read a lot of kids books, or young adult fiction as the marketing guys now call it, mainly because of the obvious, I’m not a kid. However I’ve been looking at a few books recently because my kids are getting older and I think it’d be cool if I could recommend stuff for them to read. Would ‘Freak the Mighty’ fall into the category of books I might recommend to my kids? Most certainly yes. I’ve not read anything before by Rodman Philbrick but on the standard of this book I wouldn’t count it out in the future. ‘Freak the Might’ is a very, for want of a better word, grown up book. It deals with disability, alienation, murder, the loss of a mother, kidnap and the death of a friend, all from the viewpoint of a gangly twelve year old. The characters Rodman creates are believable and well rounded with the action rattling along a decent pace. You really feel like you are inside the head of a dysfunctional American twelve year old and swiftly grow to care for the damaged youngster. What really impressed me about this book was the way that Rodman didn’t shy away from a dramatic and sorrowful ending. Where you might have expected a book for kids to gloss over the certainty of death Rodman tackles it head on in a sensitive and honestly moving way. Check it out, your kids will love it.

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “Review: Freak the Mighty

Leave a Reply

