Review: Neverwhere

Neverwhere
Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. It took me a little while to get into it but once I was in there was no coming out. Gaiman creates a London that we all think we know and then twists it inside out so that the darkness and ephemeral takes centre stage and we are thrust into an unnerving world where time is not linear and myths walk the ancient streets beneath this modern day metropolis.

It reminded me a bit of Alan Moore’s ‘From Hell’ in that it called upon a lot of similar mythology and history with which to populate this dark unsettling place. I loved the idea of a trapped Angel beneath the city, the reluctant hero and the familiar quest. This could have fallen very easily into fantasy clichĂ© but Gaiman created such a rich, vibrant world, with such an unusual cast that it remained fresh and original throughout.

The twist at the end wasn’t totally unexpected but it was believable and true to the characters and story and Mrs Vandemar & Croup must be some of the most gruesome villains every consigned to the printed page. I highly recommend this.

I’ve not seen the TV show this came from so it might be interesting to compare the two but that would just be out of curiosity.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: Neverwhere

    • Hi Mal, many thanks for that. I would’ve returned the favour but I’ve only just found your comment, God knows what happened there? so sorry about the late reply. I’ve just had a quick skim of your blog and couldn’t find the link but looking at the date that’s not surprising. It looks like you’re keeping yourself busy, good man.

Leave a Reply

