Review: Mortal Engines

Mortal Engines
Mortal Engines by Philip Reeve
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I must confess that I picked this up from a pile of books left lying around at work. I thought the cover looked cool and it had some good recommendations on the cover, I put it down and forgot about it, how I wish I hadn’t.

Phillip Reeve writes a cracking tale of shattered dreams, lost innocence and the power of friendship all set in a disjointed future of scarce resources and scavenging cities. I was gripped from the opening sentence and read it in a day, ‘It was a dark, blustery afternoon in spring, and the city of London was chasing a small mining town across the dried-out bed of the old North Sea.’

Set thousands of years in the future cities are now mobile and roam the earth seeking smaller towns and settlements to pillage. Tom is an apprentice historian and dreams of one day being able to stand shoulder to shoulder with his hero, chief historian, Valentine that is until he stumbles into Hester Shaw and his world changes forever.

This tale is aimed at younger readers and flies along at a fair old pace with wonderfully drawn out characters to regale you with their beauty and horror as they struggle to survive in this deadly far flung world. As an adult I found it just as exciting and as I’ve already said could not put it down and on the strength of this first book I’ve already bought the next three in the series.

So if you like a fine slab of high-octane escapism with a steam-punk slant then this is the book for you.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Mortal Engines

  1. Pingback: Mortal Airships « Here come the lobsters!

Leave a Reply

